The Daily Find: February 4, 2013

NAIS
Welcome to the first issue of The Daily Find for the 2013 Annual Conference. This is a feature of the community were material from different parts of the community are aggregated and featured on the main community blog. As we get closer to the conference, the frequency of The Daily Find will increase to, you guessed it…DAILY. Stories are selected from the Independent Blog list, Twitter, E-mail to naisac13@gmail.com, and more. If you have a story or blog entry you would like to share with the broader community, simply send a link to the blog post or text of your story to naisac13@gmail.com and it will become part of the larger NAIS AC13 Online Community.

Opening Discussion/Focus
What do you want to see and or hear at this year’s Annual Conference?

Write a blog post on this topic, Tweet the link with hash tag #naisac13 and send the link to naisac13@gmail.com. Additionally, you can post the link in the NAIS Connect group for the Annual Conference. This will allow for a discussion about your hopes for the 2013 conference. If you don’t have a blog, you can post a blog entry within NAIS Connect (http://connect.nais.org)  and link.

THE BLOGOSPHERE

I’m Tired
By Bill Ivey
I’m tired of hearing about kids dying by gunfire. I’m tired of writing about kids who die by gunfire. I’m tired of wondering whether people are tired of me writing about kids dying by gunfire. And I’m tired of arguing whether anyone should be writing about kids dying by gunfire.At least we all agree on one thing: it’s a tragedy when a kid dies suddenly and unexpectedly simply because someone else decided, for whatever reason and sometimes without even knowing their victim, that they should die.Or do we?…MORE

Failure is Mandatory: Creating a Culture of Innovation
Shared by Beth Holland

Progressive school administrators understand that teachers need room to explore and experiment to uncover ways to use technology effectively in the service of learning. These administrators recognize that initial tech integration forays may fall short, or even fail, but they realize that experiences gleaned help build institutional knowledge of best practices. Ultimately, enhanced community-wide knowledge and understanding of tech integration practices reduces fears and uncertainties — at both an individual and school-wide level — and provides a foundation for growth. A common trait of successful education technology programs is a culture of innovation where administrators understand that increasing institutional growth means that failure …. is mandatory…MORE

AS HEARD ON TWITTER

The Community Daily
February 4, 2013

You want to know what it really feels like to be learning disabled?
Shared by Cathy Davidson (NAIS Featured Speaker)
For two days, I sat glumly in a higher-powered meeting of program directors for a famous philanthropic organization frustrated that I was unable to log in to my laptop to be able to do the exercises others were doing around me.  It was a very simple log in:  “Username:  Guest    Password:  Guest@0000.”  I tried probably twenty times.  It’s frustrating having a broken computer.  Such terrible programming! Except, when I confided the problem to a colleague and she offered to try for me, she was able to log in on the first try.The programming problem was in my brain…MORE 

Why Great Teachers are Also Learners
Shared by Vicki Davis
As a teacher, the most important asset I can teach my students is a love of learning. In my 10 years teaching high school, I have found that making a deliberate and transparent effort to continue my own learning allows me to inspire my students to follow my footsteps. Here are some best practices that I have created for myself, to facilitate both my own learning and my students’ passion to learn…MORE

 

Leave a Reply

